Matoma drops highly anticipated debut album – One In A Million

One In A Million

In a truly meteoric rise, Norwegian powerhouse Matoma has graduated from bootlegs on Soundcloud to smash well past a billion streams with his collaborations and remixes of the who’s who of modern pop including One Direction, Coldplay, Jason Derulo, Dua Lipa, Jennifer Lopez, Sean Paul, The Notorious B.I.G. and more. Today his journey hits a new landmark moment with the release of his debut album – One In A Million.

‘One In A Million’ is brimming with all new collaborations with the likes of James Newman, Yashua and Nina Nesbitt as well as four of his biggest tracks to date. ‘False Alarm’ (with Becky Hill), ‘Lonely’ (with MAX), ‘Slow’ (with Noah Cyrus) and ‘All Night’ (with The Vamps) have amassed a staggering 533 million streams to date.

The ‘One In A Million’ tracklisting is:

1. Matoma ‘One In A Million’
2. Matoma & Enrique Iglesias ‘I Don’t Dance (Without You)’ feat. Konshens
3. Matoma ‘Sunday Morning’ feat. Josie Dunne
4. Matoma ‘Lights Go Down’ feat. James Newman
5. Matoma & Becky Hill ‘False Alarm’
6. Matoma ‘Don’t Say What You Want To’ feat. Yashua
7. Matoma ‘Losing It Over You’ feat. Ayme
8. Matoma ‘Lonely’ feat. MAX
9. Matoma ‘Telepatía’ feat. Luis Figueroa
10. Matoma ‘Slow’ feat. Noah Cyrus
11. Matoma & The Vamps ‘All Night’
12. Matoma ‘Pieces’ feat. Noah Kahan
13. Matoma ‘Lost At Sea’
14. Matoma ‘Heartbeats’ feat. Nina Nesbitt
15. Matoma ‘Not Coming Home’ feat. JRM

The release of ‘One In A Million’ is the culmination of a story that stretches back to childhood. Matoma played piano and would spend the summers mowing lawns to save up enough money to buy a computer to make his own productions. His life, however, took a detour when he was serving in the Norwegian army. He was taken ill during a winter training exercise, which resulted in him spending a couple of months recovering in hospital.

It was during his recovery that he realised he wanted to follow his passion for music. He embarked upon a degree in music production and starting uploading some bootleg remixes online for fun.

“They really took off and now this is my job,” he says. “I know it doesn’t always happen like that. I count myself so lucky to have this opportunity and I want to use it to spread positivity in the world and inspire others. We are all special.”

What followed was a whirlwind of touring, the popular ‘Hakuna Matoma’ playlist and numerous high profile collaborations – some of which were with Matoma’s boyhood heroes, such as Enrique Iglesias who collaborated on the current single and album track ‘I Don’t Dance (Without You)’.

Matoma continues: “In the past few years since I have been making music I have been so lucky to have traveled the world, worked with some incredible artists and met my amazing followers, supporters, and fans. For me, this is a one in a million opportunity and I say it every day – without my fans there would be no Matoma. Every single person in the crowd is special; we all have hearts, soul, passion, and dreams. That is what this album is about. I have worked on this for so long and I’m beyond excited to finally start sharing it with you.”

Matoma will further explore the album’s concept by inviting fans to share their own unique One In A Million Stories via social media. Breaking down the barriers between an artist and his audience, fans will be invited to relate their own personal experiences to the stories which Matoma and his collaborators explore throughout the ‘One In A Million’ album. Download it here.

Matoma’s first show following the album’s release are:

Sep 8 | Riverside Festival, Ottawa, Canada
Sep 8 | New City Gas, Montreal, Canada
Sep 9 | Hakkasan, MGM Grand, Las Vegas, NV
Sep 13 | Venu Buffalo, Buffalo, NY
Sep 14 | Prime Fest Illinois, Urbana, IL
Sep 15 | Daer, Hard Rock Hotel, Atlantic City, NJ
Oct 2 |Omnia, Las Vegas, NV
Nov 17 | Omnia, Las Vegas, NV
Nov 24 | Hakkasan, MGM Grand, Las Vegas, NV
Nov 30 | Hakkasan, MGM Grand, Las Vegas, NV
Jun 21, 22 2019 | Idyll Festival, Fredrikstad, Norway


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here