We have picked our favourites from UKF’s mammoth Dubstep 2017 compilation.

ukf dubstep

It goes without saying that UKF have been the greatest taste makers in the dubstep game.

From timeless tunes line ‘Hypersun’ by Black Sun Empire and ‘I Can’t Stop’ by Flux Pavilion, to promoting some of the most genre defining tunes by up and coming artists, UKF have championed the knack of being master selectors.

In this exponential boom of electronic music, Dubstep has seen it all. From hitting its peak to seeing some extremely dark days as a genre, which compelled many artists to leave the scene. Yet, throughout these highs and lows, UKF has been there. Supporting it passionately with its YouTube uploads, releases, global events and committed editorial support. Unashamedly celebrating every swaggering halftime beat and loin-girding bass dynamic since 2009; no other brand has been as consistently committed to the genre as UKF this decade, come rain or shine.
Like every year, the bass music giants have released their yearly compilation, UKF Dubstep 2017, boasting 23 tracks from some of the finest artists like Seven Lions, Noisia, Flux Pavilion, Borgore, and critically acclaimed artists like Virtual Riot, Dodge & Fuski, Myro and many more.

Yet again, it was mammoth task to cherry pick our favorites from this swashbuckling compilation but we have picked 5 tunes that we think have redefined the dubstep scene this year.

First up is an exclusive from the compilation by the legendary duo, KillSonik. After a four year hiatus, the duo returned to deliver ‘Never Dream Of Dying’. A seven minute roller filled with surprises throughout. ‘Never Dream Of Dying’ carries a deep two minute intro and as the track hits its peak, you can’t help but get your gunfingers out. The tune gives hits right in the feels reminding us of the great old days when dubstep was heard in every second club.

Next up is the monstrous remix of Tommy’s Theme remixed by Noisia themselves. Tommy’s Theme, when released turned into a dubstep anthem and listeners experienced a different side of Noisia’s productions. This year, the Dutch dons gave yet another flip to an already legendary track. The remix was released as part of the massive remix compilation by Noisia. While maintaining the essence of the original tune, Noisia added their own twisted textures, turning the tune into a massive apocalyptic assault. Pure Fiyaah!!

Next up is our absolute favourite from compilation. We have been big fans of Sorrow, and rightfully so. Sorrow has been releasing quality, cutting edge UK bass since he debuted the project in 2011. Part of the Twelve EP on his label, Shinigrim, ‘Want U Back’ has the Birmingham based producer’s signature style written all over it . Moody bass lines and his trademark water-soaked kick drums. The rhythm is simple yet fits right in, with the haunting vocals adding another point of interest towards the end of the tune.

Next up is another exclusive from the compilation; ‘Silence’ by Circus Records signee Mark The Beast. The tune sends us into a journey. Starting with an enticing melody and complimenting vocals, the piano flutters, gentle drums coupled with beautiful soundscapes, give us the signature Circus Records sounds which they been successfully pushing for so many years.

Finally, the last one is the wonky remix by Moody Good of Noisia’s ‘Get Deaded’. Moody Good is one of those artists we really dig because he creates some of the nastiest music out there. His tunes are all quick but absolutely mind-warping trips into a bass music world that will leave your jaw on the floor and your heart racing. This new remix for Noisia has a similar theme. With a dark and eerie overtone the song quickly morphs into an banger that will have bassheads throwing themselves on the floor. MONSTER!!

Listen to the album mix here.

Let us know the tunes you are digging from the compilation!

UKF dubstep 2017 tracklist:
01 KillSonik – Never Dream Of Dying
02 Noisia – Tommy’s Theme (Noisia’s ‘Outer Edges’ Remix)
03 Tchami feat. Stacey Barthe – After Life (Oliverse Remix)
04 Myro & BAR9 – Take Me Up
05 Dodge & Fuski – Comeback
06 Gentlemens Club – Hydra
07 The Others – Stranger Things
08 Ivory feat. Virus Syndicate – 93 Style
09 Axel Boy – Days Gone
10 Noisia – Get Deaded (Moody Good Remix)
11 Borgore – Big Bad
12 KillaGraham – Arisen
13 Virtual Riot – Throwback
14 Koven – Lasting, Part II
15 Delta Heavy – Kaleidoscope (Ray Volpe Remix)
16 Siskiyou – When The Tide Comes
17 Sorrow – Want U Back
18 Mark The Beast – Silence
19 Seven Lions feat. KARRA – Silent Skies
20 Dubloadz feat. Anuka – Life Goes On
21 Dion Timmer feat. Tima Dee – Till I Make It
22 Flux Pavilion feat. Cammie Robinson – Pull The Trigger

Get it here.

Sagar Deshmukh
Follow me!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here