Monstercat Celebrates Fourth Annual Compound Festival With Eclectic Compilation Album In Collaboration With Westwood Recordings

monstercat compound 2021

Leading independent electronic music label Monstercat celebrates the return of its fourth annual Vancouver-based Compound event today with the release of ‘Compound 2021,’ a multi-genre, eight-track compilation in collaboration with BC-based label, Westwood Recordings.

The diverse package welcomes 14 artists across bass house, dubstep, downtempo, future bass, and more from local scene-shapers such as The Funk Hunters, Case Of The Mondays, Kotek, and Sivz. With nearly all of the acts featured playing at Monstercat Compound on September 18th, the compilation aims to share the immense talent of local Canadian artists with the world.

Founder and CEO of Westwood Recordings, Nick Middleton shares, “We are thrilled for Monstercat and Westwood’s debut collaboration. It’s a joint effort that’s been waiting to happen, and having the opportunity to curate the finest up and coming Canadian talent in the electronic scene and deliver it together not only as a compilation but also a live event at Compound 2021 is an incredible win for both our label and the artists we represent.”

Monstercat’s Director of Music, Orri Sachar adds, “Monstercat Compound has always been such a special event for me, as it allows us to showcase what the organization is all about in my hometown of Vancouver. The Compilation was created to celebrate the incredible talent that Canada has to offer with our global community. I am thrilled to be collaborating with Westwood Recordings on this project, as the impact that they have made on the West Coast electronic music community was a real inspiration for me when I first started working in the industry.”

Known for their signature, forward-thinking sound, The Funk Hunters make their Monstercat debut on ‘Compound 2021’, teaming up with Vancouver Island native Kotek for their edgy retro single, “Tonight.”

With its deep bassline, crisp percussion, and guttural growls, “Tonight” is the ideal soundtrack for underground raves and after-parties. The collab fully showcases both artists’ eclectic styles and masterful sound design, bridging old-school synth work and modern bass house.

Fans can look forward to seeing The Funk Hunters and Kotek perform live next week as they take the stage at Monstercat Compound. In addition to the largest and most diverse lineup to date, Compound has a range of activities and experiences that attendees of all ages can explore.

For those interested in learning about non-fungible tokens (NFTs) and their role in music, renowned artists Fvckrender, Baeige, smeccea, Victor Mosquera, and Midnight Agency Co-Founder & CEO Nick Middleton will speak on the educational panel about New Media. The Career Compass panel will also return, with creatives and executives like Slow Jam Sundays’ Ariel Swan, artist OBLVYN, Monstercat’s Jonathan Winter, and artist So Sus, who will provide guidance and advice for working in the music industry.

Additionally, Compound boasts multiple delicious food trucks, a beer garden, live art, and a video game station. For a more exclusive experience, Premium Passes are available for $25, granting access to an elevated viewing platform, private bathrooms, a dedicated bar, and a free 3-month subscription to Monstercat Gold. RSVP before the festivities begin tomorrow, here.

Monstercat x Westwood Compilation Tracklist:

1. Tonight – The Funk Hunters & Kotek
2. Someday – Akylla
3. Not Me – So Sus & Maazel (feat. Madelen Duke)
4. call you out – frost x ill-esha
5. Stay With Me – Sivz
6. Like Me – Case Of The Mondays
7. Sacrifice – Defunk (feat. Ero808)
8. Breathe – Smalltown DJs (feat. Lisa Lobsinger)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here