Out Now: Armin van Buuren – A State Of Trance Classics, Vol. 9


In a world full of mainstream pop, you may have come from a place where all dance music was simply called ‘techno’ — no one seemed to understand the art form, and no one seemed to care. Perhaps in a previous time, you weren’t even a lover of music, because what you were hearing on the radio simply didn’t do anything for you…

For many of us, we can distinctly recall a moment where our ears were opened — where we first discovered that music could be so much more than what it had been. For millions of people, artists like Armin van Buuren, BT, Paul van Dyk, Above & Beyond, and Chicane opened the door to a world of sound that had never existed. Great songs will always remain great songs, but what about that first time you put on headphones and learned that sound design and synthesizers could make an experience far more visceral and poignant than any acoustic instrument?

The songs on this album were chosen by ASOT listeners from around the world. Armin van Buuren asked his 20 million strong listener base, coming from over 74 countries, to send suggestions for their favorite classics of all time. From this list, this album was born!

The ‘A State of Trance’ Classics series is a chance to remember just how life-changing the art form has been and will continue to be. Volume 9 contains four discs worth of groundbreaking content, spanning the most influential years of trance music. Remember that trance isn’t a genre, it’s a way of looking at music and life!


Disc 1:

Darude – Sandstorm (Original Club Mix) (07:23)

Armin van Buuren feat. Racoon – Love You More (Extended Vocal Mix) (08:59)

Tiësto feat. Kirsty Hawkshaw – Just Be (Antillas Club Mix) (09:48)

Above & Beyond presents Tranquility Base – Surrender (Original Mix) (07:33)

BT – Godspeed (BT 12 (09:20)

Dash Berlin with Cerf, Mitiska & Jaren – Man On The Run (Original Vocal Mix) (09:00)

Mauro Picotto – Pulsar (Picotto Tea Mix) (07:33)

W&W – Mustang (Original Mix) (06:32)

Paul van Dyk feat. Johnny McDaid – Home (Cosmic Gate Remix) (08:11)

Chicane – Poppiholla (Club Mix) (08:46)

Svenson & Gielen – The Beauty Of Silence (Original Mix) (09:15)

Aquanuts – Deep Sea (Original Mix) (09:38)

Aly & Fila vs FKN feat. Jahala – How Long? (Original Mix) (08:27)

Ferry Corsten presents EON – Pocket Damage (Original Extended Mix) (07:37)

Delerium feat. Nerina Pallot – Truly (Signum Remix) (08:04)

Shane – C’est Musique (Armin van Buuren Mix) (11:09)

Cosmic Gate feat. Tiff Lacey – Should’ve Known (Original Mix) (09:17)

Orjan – Arctic Globe (Original Mix) (08:02)

Disc 2:

Jurgen Vries – The Theme (Original Mix) (09:30)

Signum – First Strike (Original Mix) (07:21)

Wippenberg – Chakalaka (Original Mix) (08:15)

Armin van Buuren presents Rising Star – Startheme (Thank God For Music) (Original Mix) (07:31)

Andy Moor vs Orkidea – YearZero (Original Mix) (08:35)

Aria – Willow (DJ Tiësto’s Magikal Remake) (08:47)

Solarstone & Scott Bond – Red Line Highway (Original Mix) (11:51)

Rank 1 – It’s Up To You (SymSonic) (Extended Mix) (06:43)

Free Radical – Surreal (En-Motion Remix) (06:50)

Mr. Sam – Lyteo (Rank 1 Remix) (06:17)

Basic Dawn – Pure Thrust (NU NRG Remix) (07:02)

Joker Jam – Innocence (Paul van Dyk TPOD Remix) (08:24)

DJ Sakin & Friends – Protect Your Mind (Braveheart) (Lange Remix) (09:30)

Out Of Grace – 140 BPM (Original Mix) (08:28)

Mario Più aka D.J. Arabesque – Serendipity (Mas Mix) (08:48)

Mesh – Purple Haze (Original Mix) (07:32)

Rapid Eye – Santa Cruz (R.E.mix) (07:33)

Control Freaks – Subspace Interference (Original Mix) (06:35)

Available on iTunes.

Follow me!